Tennessee’s DUI Criminal Penalties

Depending on your specific offense and any prior DUI convictions you may have, Tennessee State’s DUI criminal penalties vary.  For a first offense  DUI conviction, you will serve at least two days in jail, up to a maximum of one year.  The minimum jail time increases where there are prior offenses, where the blood or breath test result is in excess of  0.20 %.  In addition to jail you will be required to pay mandatory fines, attend DUI School or obtain an alcohol evaluation and follow up with any recommended treatment, and be placed on probation.

A DUI conviction will also result in the suspension or revocation of your license.  You may obtain a restricted license and  suffer the embarrassment and expense of having an ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle you drive for one year following conviction. A felony DUI sentence can be longer, and you will more than likely serve time in jail.  If your case involves vehicular homicide or vehicular manslaughter, sentencing will be significantly longer.
DUI First Offense  -  Sentence is 11 months and 29 days
Specifics
Mandatory Jail Time 48 hours to 11 months 29 days
Minimum seven days if blood alcohol concentration is .20% or higher
Probationary Period 11 months 29 days less jail time
Fine $350 - $1,500
License Revocation One year
Eligible for restricted license if all qualifications are met
Possible Ignition Interlock Device
DUI School
Alcohol Rehabilitation Minimum 12 hour class required
Community Service Work May be ordered by the Court

DUI Second Offense  -  Sentence is 11 months and 29 days
Specifics
Mandatory Jail Time 45 days to 11 months 29 days
Minimum seven days if blood alcohol concentration is .20% or higher
Probationary Period 11 months 29 days less jail time
Fine $600 - $3,500
License Revocation Two (2) years
Not eligible for restricted license for at least one year
Ignition Interlock Presumed to be ordered by the court unless a contrary ruling is made by the judge. Mandatory if a prior DUI conviction in the last 5 years
DUI Assessment Mandatory alcohol and drug addiction fee of $100.00 for each conviction
DUI School
Alcohol Rehabilitation DUI School required to regain driver's license
Inpatient treatment may be ordered by the court
Community Service Work May be ordered by the Court
Vehicle Forfeiture Authorized

DUI Third Offense  -  Sentence is 11 months and  29 days
Specifics
Mandatory Jail Time 120 days to 11 months 29 days
Probationary Period 11 months 29 days less jail time
Fine $1,100 - $10,000
License Revocation Three to ten years
Not eligible for restricted license
Ignition Interlock Presumed to be ordered by the court unless a contrary ruling is made by the judge
Mandatory if a prior DUI conviction in the last 5 years
DUI Assessment Mandatory alcohol and drug addiction fee of $100.00 for each conviction
DUI School
Alcohol Rehabilitation
Community Service Work May be ordered by the Court
Vehicle Forfeiture Authorized

DUI Fourth Offense - Sentence is one to six years (Class E felony)
Specifics
Mandatory Jail Time 150 days to six (6) years
Probationary Period One (1) year to six (6) years, less jail time
Fine $3,000 - $15,000
License Revocation Five (5) years minimum
Not eligible for restricted license
Ignition Interlock Presumed to be ordered by the court unless a contrary ruling is made by the judge Mandatory if a prior DUI conviction in the last 5 years
DUI Assessment Mandatory alcohol and drug addiction fee of $100.00 for each conviction
DUI School
Alcohol Rehabilitation
Community Service Work May be ordered by the Court
Vehicle Forfeiture Authorized

If you have been charged with a Tennessee DUI your job, reputation and your future may be at stake why risk it contact a skilled Knoxville DUI attorney for a free consultation.

As in all DUI related criminal cases, the best results are obtained when you call a skilled Knoxville lawyer who is dedicated to handling Tennessee DUI, Tennessee Vehicular Assault and other driving cases as soon as possible.